quotes Elisquared likes

"Saying 'I notice you're a nerd' is like saying, 'Hey, I notice that you'd rather be intelligent than be stupid, that you'd rather be thoughtful than be vapid, that you believe that there are things that matter more than the arrest record of Lindsay Lohan. Why is that?' In fact, it seems to me that most contemporary insults are pretty lame. Even 'lame' is kind of lame. Saying 'You're lame' is like saying 'You walk with a limp.' Yeah, whatever, so does 50 Cent, and he's done all right for himself."— John Green


Slasher Girls & Monster Boys edited by April Genevieve Tucholke (Review)

Title: Slasher Girls & Monster Boys
Editor(s): April Genevieve Tucholke
Edition: Hardcover, 385 pages
Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers (imprint of Penguin)
Publication Date: August 18, 2015
Source: Self Purchased
Buy: Amazon - Barnes & Noble - Book Depository

The Summary

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror 

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV’s The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters
My Opinion

This collection of stories was so very deliciously eerie.  Some were more frightening; some were more sinister.  But no matter what, they were all unsettling.  This is the hallmark of a fantastic horror story, and this anthology is jam-packed.

What is best about this particular horror anthology, is that it is strictly young adult, which I haven't seen before.  Also, each story is inspired by classic films, books, or songs.  Some of the films/books/songs are already horror-based, but others are not.  This makes the interpretations to horror that much better in my opinion.  I think this also adds an interesting look into the way something can be interpreted, and had me researching some of the originals that inspired these stories.

For instance, my absolute, hands-down favorite story, "In the Forest Dark and Deep" by Carrie Ryan, is based on Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll.  This story follows a young girl who is a victim and a witness to a horrible crime that is conducted by a mysterious figure: the March Hare.  The events of the story flash back and forth between when Cassidy is a child and when she is a teenager on the brink of adulthood.  It is very creepy and beautiful all at once.  The use of the mad tea party is expertly done, and I just loved it so much.  I would encourage you to either read this one first, or save it for last.

Of course, while this was my favorite, it is far from alone.  A couple other real stand-out stories include "Verse Chorus Verse" by Leigh Bardugo, "Stitches" by A.G. Howard, "Sleepless" by Jay Kristoff and "On the I-5" by Kendare Blake.  Each of these are just so chilling and do the best job of making shivers go down my spine.  But, all of the stories are worth reading for sure.

I will say that I couldn't read this book at night.  After I read the first two stories I tried to go to bed.  Unfortunately, I have an over-active imagination and scared the living daylights out of myself, jumping at each creek and groan of my house.  I had to sleep with my bathroom light on!  So if you're braver than I am, definitely enjoy this anytime, but if you're a scaredy-cat like me, then I suggest full sunlight when enjoying.  If you're a horror lover, you will not be disappointed with the stories collected in Slasher Girls & Monster Boys.

Final Rating

Book Cover: 5/5

Book Title: 5/5
Plot: 10/10
Characters: 10/10
Writing: 10/10
Endings: 10/10
Overall: 50/50: A+ (perfection!)


  1. Oooh! I love me some good horror/creepy books! I just finished Interview with the Vampire a little while ago and it was a little underwhelming in the creepy aspect, so maybe this is just what I need. I wasn't a big fan of Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, but some of the other authors on here I love, so I'll definitely be adding this to my to-read pile!!!

    If you love creepy books, have you read Shutter by Courtney Alameda? It's REALLY good; reminds me a lot of Kendare Blake's Anna Dressed in Blood.

    Lovely Blog!! New follower via BL/Twitter~

    Brittany @ http://www.spacebetweenthespines.com/

  2. Great review! I really want to read this one. I like that the stories are all based on songs or movies or other stories. That's awesome! I used to not be able to handle scary things, but I like a lot more of it now! lol



Thanks so much for stopping by; I love to hear from you!

Happy reading!!!!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...