quotes Elisquared likes

"Saying 'I notice you're a nerd' is like saying, 'Hey, I notice that you'd rather be intelligent than be stupid, that you'd rather be thoughtful than be vapid, that you believe that there are things that matter more than the arrest record of Lindsay Lohan. Why is that?' In fact, it seems to me that most contemporary insults are pretty lame. Even 'lame' is kind of lame. Saying 'You're lame' is like saying 'You walk with a limp.' Yeah, whatever, so does 50 Cent, and he's done all right for himself."— John Green


Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow - Spotlight & Giveaway

     Girl in Pieces has been on my radar for a while.  I've been wanting to read this contemporary from the minute I heard about it, and I had the privilege of meeting Kathleen Glasgow at ALA.  I was able to get an ARC signed by her, and on the last day I was able to pick up an extra ARC because I knew I wanted to give my readers the opportunity to read it as well!

     I was also sent an ARC for review, so now I have TWO ARCs to giveaway to you all!  I'm really excited about this.  Girl in Pieces is a visceral book; you feel what Charlie feels; you go through what Charlie goes through.  It is a difficult story to get through at times, but so beautifully executed.  I think this will be classified by many to be a must read contemporary YA that really examines the aftermath of a life fallen to pieces, and what it takes to build it back up.

August 30, 2016

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself.

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The thick glass of a mason jar cuts deep, and the pain washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge. 

A deeply moving portrait of a teenage girl on the verge of losing herself and the journey she must take to survive in her own skin, Kathleen Glasgow’s debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from.

The room is too quiet, so I walk the halls at night.  My lungs hurt.  I move slowly.

     Everything is too quiet.  I trace a finger along the walls.  I do this for hours.  I  know they're thinking about putting me on sleep meds after my wounds heal and I can be taken off antibiotics, but I don't want them to.  I need to be awake and aware.

     He could be anywhere.  He could be here.
(Page 10)

Terms and Conditions
Open only to US/CA residents!
No entries outside of US or CA! 
Must be 13 years old to enter. 
TWO winners will win an ARC copy of GIRL IN PIECES.
Winner must have a mailing address within the US/CA.
NO PO Boxes allowedPrize will be mailed out by blog owner
Eli to the nth claims no responsibility for lost prizes.
Winner will be contacted by email. 
Winner has 48 hours to respond with mailing address.
Mailing address will be deleted upon delivery of book


  1. I'm very excited about American Girls by Alison Umminger and The Smell of Other People's Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock!

  2. I am looking forward to A.G. Howard's first Adult Lit book, The Architect Of Song! Thanks for the fab contest. :)

  3. The Serpent King is one I'm looking forward to reading.


Thanks so much for stopping by; I love to hear from you!

Happy reading!!!!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...